Mona says

August 5, 2013

Ramadan in India

Filed under: Random — by Mona S. @ 11:29 pm

This particular trip to India has been hard on the heart so far. Somehow, maybe because its Ramadan, seeing how some of the less fortunate live has been harder to stomach and I can’t help but be supremely grateful for all the innumerable blessings in my life, none of which I’ve done anything to deserve.

I was secretly annoyed with the excitement that the kids and z were displaying about this trip. It made my dread increase exponentially knowing that I was the only one not looking forward to the trip. But this time, the kids are also both old enough to understand the things going on around them and now that they are actually here, they are finding it hard to be here too. Personal discomforts aside, my soft hearted daughter cannot stand the sight of little kids, half-dressed and shoe-less playing in the streets. Or knowing that the man who comes in to do handy jobs around the house can neither speak not hear yet works so hard for meals everyday. So many such other stories and sights.

They’ve been sick too, the usual tummy bugs – and here I was so excited about giving them food straight from nature. Aah, how things work out. Z is busy with the numerous errands that come along with a big family wedding and I’m busy with the bride and her packing and the usual household chores and the kids are left to their own devices. They’ve been playing together well and in general, keeping themselves busy.

I am also finding that it is so much harder to do the kind of ibadah I want to while I’m here. By the time, I head to bed I’m thrice as tired as I usually am at home – from the tummy bug I’ve been sporting, from all the chores and errands that need to be run and caring for the kids sore tummies. Plus, it’s just been harder to find peace in my heart here – to just sit and reflect. Despite the problems I see here, the same ones that make me heartsick.

It should be easier here because, but it’s not. It’s easier in the comfort of my own home, with no worries about water shortages or power outages or constant rain or anything of that sort. Barely three days or so to go to Eid and I’m so sad to see this month end. Physically, it’s been hard but this may have been the first time ever I’ve consistently loved, appreciated and enjoyed this month.

I know that my efforts were nowhere as great as they could have been, but I hope to keep this pace up and be ready for the next round, inshaAllah. I pray that we get many more Ramadans and find the Night of Power in each one 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

