Mona says

April 8, 2013

Juice!

Filed under: Random — by Mona S. @ 1:12 pm

Of late, I’ve been reading about the magical powers of beets and I can’t think of ONE way to get my kids to eat it. But I could get them to drink it, if I added tons of other things to mask its very distinct flavor. 

So midweek, last week, I threw in a beet, a carrot, an apple and a handful of strawberries and we were all set. Once ready, I added some honey, and served it and the family lapped it up! The next day, I replaced the apple with a green one and strawberries with grapes and it went down easy too.

I had two containers of pulp and no ideas. So of course, I turned to pinterest and got some ideas. One container became halwa, with ghee and sugar, some milk and garnished with cashews, walnuts and pistachios. The other became a fruit sauce for pancakes and custard. Also, just with sugar and cardamom pods.

Tomorrow, we will try another variation and if i try something different with the pulp, I will come back here and post about it! 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

