Mona says

August 5, 2012

Ramadan Ramblings

Filed under: Random — by Mona S. @ 10:18 pm

It’s been a really long time since I last wrote. I’ve been tied up with work, and prepping for Ramadan. I think that this might be the first time that I am able to appreciate, really and truly, the beauty and barakah of this month. I’ve always appreciated the month and the discipline and feeling of community it brings about but this year I am really feeling a bit more than the usual. A deeper connection to God, a deeper connection to the Quran and deeper love as a result. Warm and fuzzy feelings.

In fact when we were talking to the kids about Allah’s names this month, both Z and I picked al Wadud (The Most Loving). I hope that the kids are picking up on the warm fuzzy lovey feelings this beautiful month too. We have a Ramadan countdown calendar and we made banners and we’re doing half fasts as well around these parts.

My husband’s family is visiting us as well and though it hasn’t been easy, it has been fun. Loud and noisy and so busy. I love having people over, feeding them and having a full house. Not for too long, I suspect, but for now I am enjoying it. The kids are having a wonderful time connecting with their abba’s family too.

So far the month has been pretty productive, spiritually, and though I could have done better – I am grateful to have been given the chance to do what I did, alhamdolillah. I hope the rest of the month is productive as well!

Today, August the 6th is my beloved nani’s seventh death anniversary and I still miss her bunches. She passed away only 12 days before I got married. May Allah SWT forgive her and grant her a place in Jannah.

There’s so much more I want to write about but now is not the time. I will be back later.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

