Mona says

April 11, 2011

Let’s eat cake!

Filed under: Random — by Mona S. @ 12:20 pm

The excitement for my daughter’s birthday this year started about a month beforehand now that she kind of understands how the months work, the sequence and the occurrence. First she said she wanted a cake shaped like the number four. SO I started my search and was all set to bake a four-shaped cake. Then, she said she wanted a butterfly – we’d already had one for her second birthday so I was okay with that too. And then she came home from school one day and declared she wanted a rainbow cake. I’ve done that too so I was unfazed but then she went on to describe the cake in perfect detail. She wanted a rainbow on the OUTSIDE! These were her conditions:

1. The cake must be vanilla.

2. It has to be blue in color.

3. There should be a rainbow on it.

4. There should be some clouds and a sun on it.

The only thing I forgot was the sun – thank God, she’d forgotten too. I made a almond buttermilk cake, frosted it with the foamy frosting colored blue, which didn’t exactly turn out like I’d have wanted but oh, well. I used MnMs for the rainbow and marshmallow fondant for the clouds. Fondant for numbers and letters.

I also served carrot and cucumber sticks, sliced oranges and strawberries and purple grapes. Pink fruit squash and we were all set. And of course, the best ever biryani – which is my own recipe. I don’t know why I’ve never posted it here before but the chicken version’s been online at Sue’s for a while now.

I made mutton biryani because the Noob prefers it, and I will post the recipe for it in a few days.

Food-wise and otherwise, it was a good day!

The recipe I used was for a vanilla buttermilk cake, but at the last minute I decided to make with almond extract instead of vanilla!

Ingredients

3/4 c unsalted butter

1 1/2 c sugar

3 eggs

2 c flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 c buttermilk

1 1/2 tsp. almond extract

Process

Preheat oven to 180 c. Grease your cake pan.

Beat butter and sugar light and fluffy.

Beat in eggs one at a time.

Sift flour with the baking powder and baking soda.

Add a quarter of the flour mixture to the butter-egg mixture. Then add almond extract and a third of the buttermilk. Repeat, beginning and ending with the flour mixture.

Pour batter into pan and bake 25-30 minutes.

Once it was ready, I wrapped in cling wrap after cooling for about 10 minutes. So much easier to crumbcoat and frost and tasted fresh too!

The foamy frosting recipe stayed the same except that again, I added almond extract instead of the vanilla.

I can’t wait to bake the next fancy cake. Next up is Sooni in November. He loves planes so it isn’t going to be any one for sure!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

