Mona says

March 30, 2011

Sponge Cake

Filed under: Random — by Mona S. @ 12:53 pm

While I know that sponge cake is the very basic cake recipe, I haven’t been able to master it. Last week, I decided to give it another shot, having got the proportions from a baker friend, 2:1:1:1 – eggs:sugar:flour:butter but for some reason, it didn’t rise the way it should have.

That evening I made lemon-icing sugar glaze, layered strawberries on the sponge and then pour the glaze over it and served it with ice cream. Needless to say, that was a HUGE hit with the family.

Today I decided to give it another shot. And it turned out better than I could have ever expected. I still followed the basic recipe but got a few more tips from a couple of the baking blogs I follow.

Here’s what I did.

Ingredients

2 large eggs

1 cup butter

1 cup sugar

1 cup self-rising flour (1 cup all-purpose flour+1 1/2 tsp baking powder + 1/2 tsp salt)

Process

Before you start anything, bring the butter to room temperature. It took me about two hours today. Also pre-heat your oven to 170 c.

Cream butter and sugar together until fluffy. Until it drips off your spoon easily enough.

In a separate bowl, beat the eggs together and add in small amount beating well.

Sift the flour two to three times.

Add through the sieve in small amounts and do not use a whisk to mix it in. You actually have to fold it in which means use a butter knife. Do not over-mix, just gently, just enough.

Pour the batter into your greased pans – I used a springform pan, lined with aluminum foil since I ran out of parchment paper and bake for 30-35 minutes. I kept a close watch after about 25 minutes but did NOT open to check.

This I suspect is what made my last effort such an epic failure. That and the fact that my butter was not room temperature. I finally made a basic sponge cake that rose beautifully and going by the taste of the batter will taste pretty fantastic too.

Victorian sponge cake today for dessert. Yum!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

