Mona says

February 24, 2011

Cream of Broccoli Soup

Filed under: Random — by Mona S. @ 2:11 pm

My parents brought us a bunch of farm-fresh broccoli the other day and I was so excited. Broccoli is amongst my favorite veggies. I never understood why in comics, or books, or cartoons, kids wouldn’t touch their broccoli. Brussels sprouts I can understand, but broccoli?

I love mine just gently steamed with salt, pepper and tossed with olive oil and crushed walnuts. Mmmm. I made our staple and put on the dining table two nights ago. Only it was completely inedible – way too much salt. I must have forgotten and salted it twice or something!

I couldn’t just trash the whole thing so I looked up a couple of broccoli soup recipes and made this today. It was pretty fantastic.

Cream Of Broccoli Soup

Ingredients:

2 c broccoli florets

1 medium sized potato

1 small onion, diced

2 tbsp butter

2 c vegetable broth (I use Kallo’s Organic)

1/2 c cream (I used Al Marai’s whipping cream)

Process:

In a skillet, heat the butter and cook onions in it until translucent. Add potatoes and broccoli and season with salt and pepper. Cook until tender. Puree and add broth. Mix well before adding cream.

Serve warm with bread of your choice or croutons.

Notes: I didn’t add any salt, and I only added the broccoli as I was pureeing the mix because I’d already steamed it earlier. The one thing I wish I hadn’t done was add green food color to it because I didn’t think the soup was ‘green’ enough. But because I did, the soup looked like pistachio pudding that hadn’t set. But! It tasted fantastic!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

