Mona says

September 18, 2010

More on yogurt cakes

Filed under: Random — by Mona S. @ 3:19 pm

I should just be true to myself and call a spade a spade. Or this blog a food blog. That’s all I write about, anyway.

So because I felt like it, I baked a vanilla yogurt cake today. This one to be precise. And because I didn’t have the time today, I actually let the cake cool in the pan for ten-fifteen minutes which is something all the recipes call for you to do, but because I’m so impatient, and I can never do just exactly what the recipe calls for, I’ve never done.

I discovered that it makes all the difference, it really does. Before this, I usually just turned the cake over, let it cool, frosted and then ate. Usually, the cake was kind of fudgy at the bottom, and I didn’t mind, because really, why would you complain about a fudgy-bottomed cake right? I mean, YUM!

So anyhoo, today’s cake wasn’t! So if you’re baking yogurt cakes and you don’t want fudgy-bottomed cakes, leave them out in the pan for a bit. But if you’re making a chocolate yogurt cake and serving it with a scoop of French vanilla ice cream, by all mean, flip it over immediately.

This recipe is also just fantastic, just the kids and I finished more than half of the cake in one go. No guilt though, because I used organic eggs, half whole wheat flour and about half the amount of sugar. No frosting either. Yum!

Here’s my version of the recipe:

Ingredients

1 1/2 c skimmed yogurt
2/3 c canola oil
3/4 c sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 c all-purpose flour; 1 1/2 c whole-wheat flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Process

Preheat your oven to 180°C.

In a huge bowl, beat together the yogurt, oil, sugar, eggs, and vanilla.

Add flour, baking powder, soda and salt and whisk lightly until the lumps are all gone.

Pour the batter into the cake pan and bake for 40 to 45 minutes.

Let it cool for 10 minutes before removing it from the pan.

EAT! Immediately!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

