Mona says

August 10, 2010

Chocolate Sour Cream Frosting

Filed under: Random — by Mona S. @ 3:19 am

Inspired by this recipe, I made my own and I have to say it was pretty darn good.

My cousins are leaving Dubai for good and moving to Qatar and I wanted to make them something and since they adore cakes, a cake it was.

I made a vanilla yogurt with red food color swirls in a star-shaped pan. They’d requested a chocolate frosting so I dithered over trying this one or going with the chocolate fudge icing and I’m glad I picked this one. The kids enjoyed the chocolate fudge icing the last time and they adored this one too.

Ingredients:

3/4 c sour cream

6 squares bitter cooking chocolate

1 c powdered sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp butter

Process:

Heat chocolate and butter in a double boiler until melted. Add sour cream and powdered sugar and beat. Add in the vanilla and leave to cool for about 15 minutes.

Frost your cake and leave to set.

I couldn’t help licking the icing as I was making it and icing the cake. I was done with the whole thing about two hours in advance and I have to say the frosting tastes much, much better after it’s had a while to set.

Only because there were kids involved, I added the powdered sugar but I have a feeling that even without, this frosting will be a winner. If you do try it without, let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

