Mona says

July 19, 2010

Chocolate Fudge Icing

Filed under: Random — by Mona S. @ 7:37 pm
Tags:

So I’m always looking for an excuse to bake and my brother-in-law’s birthday was occasion enough. I baked the chocolate yogurt cake again, I know this recipe by heart now and I look forward to experimenting with other yogurt cakes.

The last time I’d made it, I used ganache to frost the cake and though it worked quite well, I thought that there had to be another perfect frosting for this particular cake. I was going to try buttercream this afternoon but I was visiting F this afternoon and we went through her go-to baking book for icing recipes and came across this one.

It was really easy to make, and spread on the cake. And it tasted just right. If you’ve made the chocolate yogurt cake, you already know that it’s not a very sweet cake (just the way I like them!) and so this chocolate fudge icing was just right for it. I might reduce the amount of sugar the next time, just to mess around but it was pretty good as-is.

Ingredients:

3/4 cup caster sugar

1/3 cup evaporated milk

4 one-ounce squares of dark chocolate

3 tbsp butter

1/4 tsp vanilla essence

Process:

Cook caster sugar and evaporated milk until the sugar has melted completely. Bring to a boil and then simmer for exactly four minutes, stirring constantly.

Remove from heat, add in the chocolate squares, until they melt and mix in. Stir in butter and vanilla essence.

Pour into a bowl, cover with clingwrap and refrigerate for about 30 minutes.

I refrigerated the cake too, so I wouldn’t have to deal with crumbs while frosting and decorating and this was easily the neatest icing job I’ve ever done. I will upload a picture soon!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

