Mona says

July 5, 2010

Healthy Banana Nut Bread (for Linda)

Filed under: Random — by Mona S. @ 6:38 am
Tags:

Since I’m baking again and also now trying to live a healthier lifestyle, I adapted my favorite banana nut bread recipe and it was just as good as the original. The whole wheat and olive oil substitutions didn’t change the taste of the cake at all.

I won’t say it was denser, fluffier or whatever than the original recipe because I also have no clue what those things mean. Cake is cake is cake is cake. Anyhoo, enough talking, here’s the modified recipe:

Ingredients

2 cups flour (I used half all-purpose and half whole-wheat)

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup oil (I used olive oil)

2 beaten eggs

3-4 large bananas, mashed

1/4 cup walnuts or pecans

Process

The recipe actually calls for mixing the dry (the first six) and wet ingredients separately and then combine the two.

I wanted this bread baked as soon as possible – I was doing a gazillion other things alongside – so I just threw the wet ingredients in the blender, and then the dry ingredients and let it blend together for about 2-3 minutes. Just before I started the blender, I preheated the oven to 180 C and then greased a loaf pan with olive oil.

Pour in the batter, add the nuts and bake for 40-50 minutes. Ta-da!

This is a great breakfast or snack bread. The responsible way of eating it would be by itself, but smeared with a healthy dollop of butter, it is just fabulous.

1 Comment »

  1. I thought you’d stopped posting here. Checking in after yonks.

    Comment by Sue — July 5, 2010 @ 10:16 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

