Mona says

June 6, 2010

Creamy ride pudding – the serendipity way

Filed under: Random — by Mona S. @ 6:54 am
Tags:

I hate that my rice gets over-cooked occasionally. Usually, I have the house-help make it for me – but on weekends like yesterday, I end up having to fend for myself, while also tending to the kids, and the usual weekend chaos.

Yesterday, I’d made Chicken Shaslik (the desi version of some Chinese recipe) and I couldn’t imagine eating it with mushy, over-cooked rice. I put more rice on, to be cooked while I wondered what to do with the over cooked rice.

Feeding it to the kids was out of the question – Noob hates mushy rice even more than I do and this lot had salt in it so I couldn’t feed it to ‘Sooni.

I ended up making rice pudding, and it turned out really good. Here’s how I made it.

Ingredients:

2 cups of overcooked, mushy rice.

1 tbsp of cocoa or chocolate drink

1 rounded tbsp custard powder

2/3 cup milk + 1/4 cup milk

1/2 cup sugar

2 tbsp butter

Pinch of nutmeg

Roasted coconut flakes and chocolate shavings for garnish

Process:

Blend together the rice, custard powder, chocolate powder, 2/3 cup milk and half the sugar on high speed until the mixture is a creamy, smooth paste.

In a sauce pan, heat the butter, add the remaining sugar and the 1/4 cup of milk and nutmeg and cook until the milk boils.

Take it off the fire and add the rice paste. Mix well. Spoon into cups, and refrigerate.

Before serving, add a dollop of whipped cream, roasted and browned coconut flakes and chocolate shavings. You won’t be able to stop at one.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

