Mona says

February 10, 2009

25 Random Things Tag

Filed under: Random — by Mona S. @ 3:18 am
Tags:

I actually had fun doing this, so I’m just reposting here too:

1. I am more easily bribed with potato crisps / chips and corn curls than ice cream or chocolate.

2. I love horror movies and books – thanks to which my already active imagination goes into overdrive when I’m scared – in a span of a few minutes, I have in my head elaborate, gruesome scenarios of how I died in excruciating detail.

3. I have recurrent dreams about animals terrorizing me – first it was snakes, then tigers and spiders and of late, sharks.

4. I was bitten by a brown recluse once, and I was told to stop wearing shorts in the summer. In my headscarf, did I really look like someone who roamed the backyard in my shorts?

5. We don’t own a television and most people assume it’s because my husband and I very religious people. In truth, when we first got married, we didn’t have the money for it, and when we did have the money, we had no time or need for it.

6. The only detail about my dream house I can see with perfect clarity in my mind is the library.

7. I can’t stand bad spelling, grammar or punctuation.

8. I love rifling through the dictionary in my spare time. I love big words and I love knowing what they mean even if I’m never tempted to use them.

9. I love the smell and feel of a new book or magazine. I also think that the e-zine could never generate the excitement that a magazine in print can.

10. Trashy tabloids are my guilty pleasures.

11. When Hana was born and I realized just how much I loved her, I worried that I might never be able to love anybody else again.

12. Then Misha had Ray and I realized that the heart is a funny thing – even when you feel it’s full and brimming over, it expands to hold it all in.

13. I miss Misha more than I let on.

14. I love that I’m reliving childhood with Hana. Even though it’s pretty darn tiring. No amount of sugar intake can match the natural energy levels of a toddler.

15. I really respect people with great work ethics.

16. I start loads of projects and lose interest halfway through.

17. I am trying to change this because I think it will help me be more focused and determined, two things I want to learn to be.

18. I am so excited about being almost 30, that I am often surprised by own age when I see it in writing on medical insurance forms. (27)

19. The reason I look forward to 30 is because a) I think it sounds cool and b) I think I will finally have lived long enough to know who I am, what I want and how I want it, by then.

20. To be contrary though, I find that as I grow older, the less I know about anything at all.

21. I love excel, and powerpoint. They’re almost as magical as bubbles. I think no matter how old I am, I will still be fascinated by bubbles. Oh, and airplanes flying overhead.

22. My dream holiday destinations are Istanbul and Prague. Of late, I feel Ireland calling to me as well.

23. When slighted, I always think of the perfect retort days, weeks or months later but feel on top of the world when I do. Almost as if I’d said something sharp and witty on the spot.

24. Z and I argue about everything under the sun and we’re happiest when we’re disagreeing with each other.

25. When I married Z, I thought I was making the biggest mistake of my life but couldn’t chicken out. I’m glad I didn’t because in him, I found everything I didn’t even know I was looking for

2 Comments »

  1. Mona, Prague… Is… Love. I was there for a training and I thought to myself… now I know what they mean when they call a PLACE romantic. I felt it for the first time. And for the first time I felt that I should be in this particular place WITH someone.

    Love point 25. Making the commitment to marry someone is so goddamn difficult. I’m not surprised when men fear commitment anymore! MAy you and Z always find happiness in each other. Ameen.

    Comment by BaptizedLucifer — February 21, 2010 @ 6:54 pm |Reply

  2. no tv? as joey would say “what is all your furniture pointing towards?”!!
    but what a blessing not to develop an addiction and to be suffering withdrawal symptoms when you have a kid

    Comment by aneela z — May 24, 2010 @ 10:11 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

