Mona says

November 27, 2008

Filed under: Random — by Mona S. @ 4:11 am
Tags:

Growing up, patriotism to me was equivalent to loving Bollywood and biryani. Back then, I complained about our once-every-two-years-for-two-weeks trips and even now, I can’t bring myself to get excited about our annual two week trip to see the ILs. I’d be lying though if I said that I don’t enjoy my time there. There’s something about India that makes me happy though I’d be hardpressed to admit it, especially to Z.

All my life, I tried to run away from my brownness, my indianness and over the years, I’ve realized that it’s such an integral part of me – I couldn’t cut it out if I wanted to. I’ve come to accept it, love and cherish it even.

I love being Indian. I’m still a long way off wanting to go live there anytime in the near future but I do love the place. There’s just something about it.

Everytime something like this happens, I get so upset. You might think that I’ve never lived in India, that I don’t really know India, that I don’t really love India and hence, I’m not really feeling anything. But I am. I really am.

Sad. Angry. Scared. Helpless. Angry.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

