Mona says

March 17, 2008

Blast from the past

Filed under: Uncategorized — by Mona S. @ 7:19 am
Tags: ,

I was talking to M recently, who is in the intial stages of a new relationship, and all the excitement, the passion and the romance just makes me sigh. It made me want to go back and relive the early days of our marriage. I went back to the blog I wrote in back then and found a post from November 2005. I’m reposting it to remind myself. We may be pros at this marriage game, having been at it for almost three years, and with one child – it might be trickier and harder to recreate that romance on a daily basis, but that doesn’t mean that I should stop looking for it. So here’s to a renewed effort at finding and creating those ‘moments’ more often.

Being with somebody you know loves you unconditionally – who knows and anticipates your needs and wants even before you can…being loved for just who you are, flaws and all and knowing deep in your heart that your trust in him will never even see a dent, much less break, is the most gratifying feeling in the world.

It’s a feeling that just stays in your heart always, a quiet sort of joy and confidence. I’m happier than I ever thought possible. Believe me when I say I count my blessings and it’s like counting the stars in the night sky.

Thank You, God, for making everything happen the way it did. For letting true love find me when I had almost given up all hope. For putting me back together when I was broken. For restoring my faith in love, trust and hope. For helping me find the turning point on the road to cynicism. For giving me redemption in the form of my husband.

You do know best. I will never doubt that again.

Help me keep that promise to myself and to You.

Help me be what Z needs, help me be perfect for him, help me be to him what he is to me: everything.

Keep us together always: safe and happy. Let nothing evil ever touch our lives.

Three wonderful months past and a lifetime ahead. Unimaginable excitement and indescribable joy.

Again, how many blessings will I thank You for? And how?

1 Comment »

  1. Mona…im trying to find the right words here but there are none. So I’ll settle for WOW!! Your blogs always blow me away but this one is in a class of its own. I knew you wrote it a long time ago but rest assured from what I can tell you haven’t broken that promise. Watching you and Z together you’d never guess you weren’t still newlyweds:-)

    Comment by Melina — March 18, 2008 @ 4:21 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

