Mona says

July 18, 2006

11 months and counting

Filed under: Uncategorized — by Mona S. @ 10:13 am
Tags: , ,

Today, Z and I complete 11 months of being married.

So far the journey’s been full of revelations – understanding Z and understanding myself and understanding the dynamic that is our relationship.

I’ve heard both sides of the story – about the first being the hardest year in the marriage as well as the converse, about the first year being the easiest.

Eitherway I look forward to the rest of our lives together.

The 18th of every month, Z and I make it a point to talk about our wedding day, the week or two preceding it and the week following it – the events, the emotions we felt and the people who really made everything special for us.

It helps keep the memories fresh. And it renews the passion…right after, I feel like a newly-wed all over again. And that’s just lots of endorphins all around.

Z and I made a final booking last night at the Jumeirah Bab Al Shams for two nights for our first wedding anniversary – a room with our own private little garden. I’m so excited about it, I cannot wait for August to roll around.

August is also Z’s birthmonth and M’s. Damn, I am going to one broke woman next month. I know what I’m getting M for her birthday, Z’s gift is going to be so hard. I hate shopping for men – hate it, HATE it.

Speaking of which, I’m also hating what’s happening in the world right now. Where are we going with this pointless violence? It’s all about the egos, is what it is. And I sense that this will not end in ceasefire or peaceful resolution. The Middle East is fighting an old war. The two sides are going to be fighting and killing, killing and fighting until they tire of it all. I just pray that the fatigue sets in much sooner than has been the case with all other wars and strifes.

We’re up next (our generation, I mean) managing this world and its affairs – are we upto it? I read encouraging reports about today’s student wanting more than material success (pretty house in the suburbs, a second home on a tropical island, bigger and better cars and so on) opting instead for a hands-on approach to solving the world’s problems.

Students who travel to destitute parts of the world – learning and helping. Experiencing. They’re the ones who can really make a difference. These are the people I would put in charge. They can be tomorrow’s saviors. These are the people I’ll be rooting for to take to the world stage.

Hope springs eternal, after all.

2 Comments »

  1. M is super-excited about her budday! 😀
    Lol!
    You know what? I know we get annoyed with each other every morning and in the evenings sometimes as well but I like coming and going with you (I mean, okay I will be pretty happy when I can get back to having an extra hour of sleep!) but until then, I think its been a while since we have been able to really talk and stuff like this. So its pretty cool you know.
    Let you know exactly what I want for my birthday pretty soon!
    🙂

    Comment by misha — July 18, 2006 @ 3:14 pm |Reply

  2. Assalamalaikum

    Wow…beautiful site…beautiful & wise words 🙂
    I am impressed….totally…Amazing….Great job! 🙂

    Alhamdulilah-Subhanallah-Mashallah

    I thought you love shopping for men..!! & esp. for Z..?? joking.. 🙂

    B’day gift – well what i wanted, i got it already, last year, and the good thing is, i got that precious gift two days before my B’day.
    So who is the luckiest guy?

    🙂

    Comment by S — July 19, 2006 @ 6:16 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

